CHLOE BENJAMIN - 9:50 AM, Fri. April 20 in MU 302 Alex Dawson talks with Chloe Benjamin, author of the instant New York Times Bestseller, The Immorta

        Preferences  
Writers house logo 8

CHLOE BENJAMIN - 9:50 AM, Fri. April 20 in MU 302

Alex Dawson talks with Chloe Benjamin, author of the instant New York Times Bestseller, The Immortalists.

The Immortalists has been called "captivating" (New York Times), "a literary page-turner" (Wall Street Journal), "propulsive and colorful... brilliant and simple" (Chicago Tribune), "thrilling" (Marie Clarie), "compelling" (Esquire), "an examination of free will and fate" (New Yorker), "poignant... a testimony of love" (Washington Post), "amazing... dense, yet beautifully spun... spare, yet gorgeously robust" (Associated Press), "as deft and dizzying as a high-wire act" (Economist), "profound" (Richard Russo), "beautiful, compassionate... inspiring... joyful" (Nathan Hill), and "perfect for fans of Donna Tartt and Celeste Ng" (People, Book of the Week).

“The Immortalists asks a seemingly simple yet unimaginably complex question: If you knew the date of your death, how would you live your life? The search for the answer makes for a sprawling, enchanting family saga.”—Entertainment Weekly (Must-List)

1 Indie Next Pick for January 2018; January 2018 Library Reads Favorite ; January 2018 Amazon Spotlight Pick; Spring 2018 B&N Discover Great New Writers Selection


One of...Entertainment Weekly’s “Must-read Books for 2018”; Elle’s “19 of the Best Books to Read This Winter”; Harper's Bazaar’s “10 New Books to Add to Your Reading List in 2018”; Southern Living's “Books Coming Out This Winter That We Can’t Wait to Read”; Martha Stewart Living, “On Our Bookshelf”; InStyle's “10 Books We Can’t Wait to Read in 2018”; The Huffington Post's “60 Books We Can't Wait to Read in 2018”; W Magazine's "10 Unconventional New Books About Love For Valentine's Day"

Popsugar’s “25 Must-Read Books for Fall”; Bustle's “35 Most-Anticipated Fiction Books of 2018”; Nylon's “50 Books We Can’t Wait To Read In 2018”; Goop's “12 Books for Winter Break”; BookPage's “Most Anticipated Fiction of 201”; Book Riot's “101 Books Coming Out in 2018 That You Should Mark Down Now”; HelloGiggles' “Most Anticipated Books of 2018”;PureWow's “20 Books We Can't Wait to Read in 2018”; Goodreads' “Most Anticipated Books of 2018”; Book Riot's “Most Anticipated Books of January 2018”; TimeOut's “Eleven New Books to Read This Month”

ON DECK: Thurs, April 26 @ 4:30 PM - Robert Olen Butler (Perfume River).

IWH w. Chloe Benjamin
***

Mon, Feb 12 @ 9:50 AM (EST) Chandler Klang Smith (The Sky is Yours)

Mon, Feb 19 @ 6:10 PM (EST) - Leni Zumas (Red Clocks)

Thurs, March 1 @ 9:50 AM (EST) - Terese Mailhot (Heart Berries)

Tues, March 6 @ 1:10 PM (EST) - Anjali Sachdeva (All the Names They Use for God)

Thurs, March 22 @ 1:10 PM (EST) - Karen Russell (Swamplandia)

Weds, March 28 @ 9:50 AM (EST) - Akwaeke Emezi (Freshwater)

Fri, March 30 @ 2:50 PM (EST) - Christopher Yates (Grist Mill Road) & Colin Winnette (The Job of the Wasp)

Thurs, April 5 @ 11:30 AM (EST) - Hala Alyan (Salt Houses)

Fri, April 13 @ 1:10 PM (EST) - Luis Alberto Urrea (The House of Broken Angels),

Weds, April 18 @ 11:30 AM (EST) - Joseph Cassara (The House of Impossible Beauties)

Fri, April 20 @ 9:50 AM (EST) - Chloe Benjamin (The Immortalists)

Thurs, April 26 @ 4:30 PM (EST) - Robert Olen Butler (Perfume River)

All IWH sessions meet in the Plangere Culture Lab, Murray Hall 302. Click HERE to read my open letter to Writers House instructors. Click HERE to read series feedback from the students.

***
2018 SPRING IWH POSTER FINAL

Be a part of the conversation! Get candid access to working writers from all over the country as Writers House instructor (and former bookstore owner) Alex Dawson talks craft (via video chat) with some of the year's hottest pen pushers.

"Inside the Writers House" invites you into the homes, offices, and writing rooms of acclaimed authors, providing an inside eye on their working life and a level of intimacy often lacking in more formal settings. An obvious reference to the televised Actor's Studio seminar, "Writers House" interviews are likewise craft focused, but strive for an earthy spontaneity unencumbered by prepared queries and index card cues. Visits are conversational and plastic, largely molded by (and dependent on) audience questions. In addition to the conversation, most sessions include short readings, writing prompts, and personal "tours" (chances are you'll meet their pets).

Books by IWH guests are available at the RU B&N (just look for the stepladder display bearing the IWH logo). In some instances, signed ex-librīs labels are available to those who purchase books.

***

Previous guests: Joe McGinniss, Jr., Lara Vapnyar, Nathan Hill, Arthur Phillips, Tom Holland, Garth Greenwell, Karan Mahajan, Justin Cronin, Bill Broun, Maryse Meijer, Sara Majka, Jonathan Evison, Michael Swanwick, Scott Snyder, N.K Jemison, Daniel Wallace, Ann Packer, Stewart O'Nan, Alexander Chee, Hannah Tennant-Moore (Wreck and Order), Andrew Smith, Charles Bock, Julia Elliot, Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney (The Nest), David Gates, James Hannaham, Austin Grossman, Erika Swyler, Elissa Schappell, Daniel Torday, Laura van den Berg, Annie Liontas Sung Woo, Susan Orlean, Benjamin Percy, Daniel José Older, Clay McLeod Chapman, William Chandler, Megan Mayhew Bergman, Lev Grossman, Mark Jacobson, Bret Anthony Johnston, Thomas Pierce, Lauren Oliver, Edwin Frank, Jeff VanderMeer, Achy Obejas, William Giraldi, Porochista Khakpour, Jess Row, Rolf Potts, Alethea Black, and Emma Straub.

Click HERE to read the New Brunswick Today article about "Inside the Writers House."

***
Alex 5

ALEX DAWSON is the author of The Rapscallion Club, a forthcoming archeological adventure series for all ages, which has received advance praise from Lev Grossman (The Magicians) and World Fantasy Award winner John Crowley (Little, Big), among others. Until 2012, Dawson was the owner of The Raconteur, a now-defunct bookshop and performance venue hailed by The New York Times, The Guardian, The Huffington Post, and The Star Ledger. He is the founder of Raconteur Ventures, a company dedicated to reviving and animating communities through cultural programming, and the host of Raconteurs & Roustabouts, a vaudevillian variety show that puts authors on stage alongside musicians and sideshow performers. Dawson teaches Intro to Creative Writing and Creative Writing in Middle Grade & YA Fiction at Rutgers University and Multi-Genre Creative Writing at the Middlesex County Arts High School. He is currently at work on the dark YA novel, The Wonderful World of Walker Hands.

blogger facebook
1px