January 2015 1. On-Farm Research Annual Results Update - Feb. 13, 16 & 17 The Nebraska On-Farm Research Network's Annual Results Updates are right a

January Banner2

January 2015

Cover of book

The Nebraska On-Farm Research Network's Annual Results Updates are right around the corner! Come hear from growers who conducted on-farm research as they share their results from the 2014 growing season. Over 75 On-Farm Research studies were conducted this year. Data will be presented on cover crops, foliar fungicides, growth promoters, harvest methods, seed treatments, foliar micro-nutrients, other nutrients, planting operations, corn and soybean planting populations, and more!

February 13: Grand Island College Park
February 16: Norfolk Northeast Community College
February 17: Mead ARDC

Programs will be held from 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. at all locations. Registration is free, but pre-registration is requested for meal planning. To register for any of the sites call (402) 624-8000 or email Christina Franklin at christina.franklin@unl.edu and indicate which site you plan to attend.

Approval has been sought for five Certified Crop Adviser CEU credits.

We hope to see you there!


Keep up with emerging ag technologies for your farm at the 2015 Nebraska Agriculture Technology Association Conference Feb. 4-5 in Grand Island.

The Feb. 4 program includes two half-day symposiums on:
* Integrated Agronomic Management Systems (Encirca, Field Scripts, ACS)
* Unmanned Aerial Vehicles (UAVs) use in Agriculture.

The evening program on Feb. 4 will feature UAV technology demonstrations from the Nebraska Intelligent Mobile Unmanned Systems (NIMBUS) lab.

The Feb. 5 program will feature 16 breakout sessions and a closing keynote by John Fulton, associate professor at The Ohio State University on "Trends for Enabling Data Driven Crop Production Management." You won't want to miss this visionary talk.

To register visit the NeATA website.


Learn how to extract more information from your precision ag data at one of 10 workshops this winter. The Precision Ag Data Management Workshops will offer lectures and hands-on activities using Ag Leaders SMS Advanced software (laptops and data supplied). Session topics will demonstrate strategies to:

Conduct multi-year yield data normalization
Analyze yield monitor data versus as-applied split planter hybrid data
Quantify yield monitor data versus NRCS soil survey data and soil electrical conductivity (EC) maps
Develop prescription maps for crop inputs
Develop and evaluate the performance of management plans for corn seeding rates using on-farm research strategies


Jan. 29 — Fremont, Dodge County Extension Office
Contact: Nathan Mueller, (402) 727-2775 or nathan.mueller@unl.edu
Jan. 30 — Saunders County Extension, UNL ARDC near Mead
Contact: Laura Thompson, (402) 624-8000 or laura.thompson@unl.edu

Feb. 6 — Grand Island, College Park
Contact: Todd Whitney, (402) 694-6174 or twhitney3@unl.edu
Feb. 24 — York, 4-H Bldg., 2400 Nebraska Ave.
Contact: Gary Zoubek, (402) 362-5508 or gary.zoubek@unl.edu
Feb. 25 — Clay Center, Clay County Activities Bldg.
Contact: Jenny Rees, (402) 762-3644 or jenny.rees@unl.edu
Feb. 26 — Central City, Venture Center
Contact: Troy Ingram, (308) 946-3843 or tingram5@unl.edu

March 3 — Auburn, Nemaha County Hospital Classroom, 2022 13th St.
Contact: Gary Lesoing, (402) 274-4755 or glesoing2@unl.edu
March 4 — Beatrice
Contact: Paul Hay, 402-223-1384 or paul.hay@unl.edu
March 3 — Geneva, Public Library
Contact: Brandy VanDeWalle, (402) 759-3712 or brandy.vandewalle@unl.edu
March 10 — Gothenburg, Monsanto Learning Center
Contact: Chuck Burr, 308-696-6783 or chuck.burr@unl.edu

Programs begin at 8:30 a.m. and end at 5 p.m. Registration is $50. Sites are limited to 25 registrants, and are filling up fast! For more information visit Precision Ag Data Management Workshops.

Funding Credits 4
facebook twitter