New WI League Brings High School Mountain Bike Racing to Iola Winter Park 120+ racers will compete in Race 2 of a 4-race series. Contact: Kathy Moc


New WI League Brings High School Mountain Bike Racing to Iola Winter Park

120+ racers will compete in Race 2 of a 4-race series.


Race #1 | Minooka Park. Photo Credit: Dave Reich

Contact: Kathy Mock

Sept. 17, 2014 - Custer, WI - On Sun. Sept. 21, more than 120 student-athletes from 16 teams, plus their coaches, team managers, parents and league officials, are descending on Iola Winter Park in Iola, WI for Race #2 in the new Wisconsin High School League.

See Full Team List

The four-event Wisconsin League is part of the National Interscholastic Cycling Association (NICA), a self-funded non-profit youth development organization that governs high school mountain biking in the United States.

"We're excited to hold our second race at Iola's Winter Park," said WI League Co-Director Kathy Mock. "Our student athletes will be given an exclusive opportunity to race on the beautiful rolling single-track at Iola; since the park is not normally open to the public for racing."

After a successful inaugural race on Sun. Aug. 31, the WI League team is ready for Race #2.


Iola Winter Park in Iola. Come on out and cheer on the kids! Middle school and high school aged student-athletes will be racing all day! Ladies start at 10:30AM and boys racing will begin at 12:30PM.

See you at the races!

podium winners

Race #1 | Minooka Park. Photo Credit: Dave Reich

2014 WI League Team and Individual Leaders after Race #1

Team Standings To Date:
1 CamRock Climbers Composite Team
2 West HS Madison
3 Wausau United Team

Individual Category Leaders To Date:
Varsity Girls | Emma Swartz | Independent
Varsity Boys | Kenn Larson | Independent
JV Girls | Mckenna Dwyer | CamRock Climbers Composite Team
JV Boys | Andrew Schmidt | Lake Geneva HS Team
Soph Girls | Ella Shively | La Crosse Composite HS Team
Soph Boys | Daxton Mock | CamRock Climbers Composite Team
Frosh Girls | Emma Osborne | LW Lutheran HS Team
Frosh Boys | Matthew Rodenkirch | Sun Prairie Cards Team
MS Girls | Katy McDicken | Hortonville HS Team
MS Boys | Hunter Schmitt | Ozaukee Washington City Composite Team

More Race Information:
WI League website:
WI League Facebook page:

Regional Media Contact:
Libby Hurley. 952.835.4540


Race #1: Sun. Aug 31, 2014 - Minooka Park, Waukesha, WI

Race #2: Sun. Sept 21, 2014 - Iola Winter Park, Iola, WI

Race #3: Sun. Oct 5, 2014 - Nordic Mountain, Mt. Morris, WI

Race #4: Sun. Oct 19, 2014 - Cascade Mountain, Portage, WI


About the Wisconsin High School Cycling League
The Wisconsin High School Cycling League, founded in 2013, serves all Wisconsin high school and middle school-aged students, and regardless of ability level, is committed to providing a positive co-ed cycling experience. Each WI League season includes summer clinics, a four-race series, and a Spring Leaders’ Summit for training and certification of coaches. The WI League exists by virtue of a range of fundraising activities, as well as generous donors, including WI League specific sponsors: Wisconsin Off-Road Series (WORS), Trek Bicycles, Trek Travel, Trek Bicycle Store of Madison, Wheel & Sprocket, Erik’s Bike and Board Shop, Heinrich Company, Hostel Shoppe and Wildside Adventure Sports. WI League is proud to have the support of over 25 National Sponsors, including the founding national sponsor, Specialized Bicycle Components; as well as establishing NICA sponsors Easton Foundations, SRAM and Trek Bicycles. For more information on the WI League, visit

WI-sponsors 2.13.14
facebook instagram twitter youtube