Amonkhet The desert oasis of Amonkhet forges warriors! Compete in the Trials of the Five Gods and claim an honored place among the elite ranks of the




The desert oasis of Amonkhet forges warriors! Compete in the Trials of the Five Gods and claim an honored place among the elite ranks of the worthy!

Amonkhet is here. Try out some of the new mechanics like Embalm and Aftermath. Split cards make a return.

Set Name: Amonkhet
Block: Set 1 of 2 in the Amonkhet Block
Number of Cards: 264
Prerelease Events: April 22-23, 2017
Release Date: April 28, 2017
Magic Online Launch: April 24, 2017
US MSRP: $3.99

Buy and Sell Amonkhet on CardShark today.


Are you Destined to Lead?

Amonkhet Split Card Rules Changes

Split cards are changing with the release of Amonkhet. This applies to older split cards as well, so it makes sense to brush up on the new rules before any pre-release tournaments.

Here's what Wizard's has to say on the matter:
"The core of the change is that we're no longer assuming split cards have two sets of characteristics when they're not on the stack. Some characteristics have multiple pieces of information very naturally—Destined to Lead is an instant sorcery, the same as Ornithopter is an artifact creature. It's black and green just like Winding Constrictor because its mana cost has B and G in it. Continuing that, the mana cost combines the components, and a card asking for Destined to Lead's mana cost sees 4BG.

So now, the converted mana cost question is simple: if Destined to Lead isn't on the stack, it has a converted mana cost of 6. Destined on the stack is still a black instant with a converted mana cost of 2, and Lead on the stack is still a green sorcery with a converted mana cost of 4, but Destined to Lead, any time it's not one or the other, is a black and green instant sorcery with a converted mana cost of 6."

Read the full article from Wizards.


Are you ready to be Embalmed?

The new set Amonkhet comes with some fun mechanics. Of note are Embalm, Aftermath and Exert:

Embalm is an activated ability you can activate if the creature card with embalm is in your graveyard. Notably you're not casting the card from the graveyard, so things that counter spells won't work against the embalm ability. The original creature spell can be countered, of course, but that just puts the card in the graveyard. I think you see where this is headed.

To activate an embalm ability, simply pay the embalm cost and exile the card. You do this any time you could cast a sorcery

Aftermath lets you play a split card from your graveyard. It can be played in the same turn or let your opponent sweat it out for a bit and play it later.

Exert lets you get a little more oomph out of your creatures for an added bonus, but a penalty later.

You make the decision whether to exert a creature as you declare it as an attacker. If you choose to have it exert, an ability will trigger and grant you some bonus. As a trade-off, the creature won't untap during your next turn. It's tired. Needs a nap. Attack more later.

You don't have to exert the creature as it attacks. If you don't, no ability will trigger, and it will untap normal during your next turn.

Brush up on all the mechanics before any release tournaments so you are ready to take advantage of these.



Easter Egg Hunt Winner

Congratulations to our Easter Egg Hunt contest winner awaytar, they won $25 Cash Back on their next CardShark order for being the first to find the hidden image under the card "Chicken Egg":

Smells like Chicken tastes like egg? You could win next time as we hunt for independence on the 4th of July.

Check out the promos page to keep up to date on Contests and Promotions.


Be sure to like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter for more fun updates

blogger facebook feed path twitter