NICA HONORS ITS 2013 AWARD RECIPIENTS BERKELEY, Calif. – Outstanding participants in high school cycling leagues across the U.S. were honored at the

nica press1

NICA Honors its 2013 Award Recipients

NICA Awards031

Special guest Jeremiah Bishop presents the Sho-Air Extraordinary Courage award to Garrison Hayes of Highlands Ranch, Colo. Photo:

BERKELEY, Calif. – Outstanding participants in high school cycling leagues across the U.S. were honored at the 2013 National Interscholastic Cycling Association (NICA) Awards, held at Berkeley Marina, California, January 25, 2014.

NICA presented awards in ten categories to fourteen individuals and organizations considered to be the most outstanding student-athletes, dedicated coaches, and the most supportive volunteers and sponsors to have helped advance the high school mountain biking movement over the past year.

Austin McInerny, Executive Director of NICA, said, “Our award recipients are the tip of the iceberg. The greatness of the those around the USA working to make high school cycling a mainstream activity is matched only by the passion and enthusiasm I see every time I visit our member leagues. Every day, each one of us works to create and develop the high school cycling movement, and I know that for others – as for me – the greatest reward comes from the positive effects of our work on the people and the communities in which we all live.”

NICA Awards035

Rear (from left): Dr. Anais Spitzer (USADA), Austin McInerny (NICA), Coco Ramirez, Garrison Hayes, Haley Batten, Sherry Thurgood, Megan Bradley, Elmo De Ville, Matt Gunnell, Rick Spittler. Front: John Dawson (SRAM), Justin Griffin, Sean Bird, Brad Didier, Yuri Kostick, Jeremiah Bishop. Photo:

Award Recipients

Clif Bar and Company Volunteer Service Award
Sherry Thurgood, Utah High School Cycling League
Michael Angelovich, Texas High School Mountain Bike League
The Volunteer Service Award honors an exceptional volunteer whose dedication of time, expertise and enthusiasm goes above and beyond to make a difference in the organization.

CamelBak Distinguished Alumni Award
Sam Trop, Jordan High School, Utah High School Cycling League
The Distinguished Alumni Award recognizes a student-athlete who carries on the spirit of high school cycling beyond their high school years.

Primal Wear Race Production Partner Award
Robert “Coco” Ramirez, NorCal High School Cycling League
The Race Production Partner Award acknowledges an individual whose outstanding partnership role in race productions is key to the success of a leagues race event production.

Quality Bike Products Community Impact Award
The Honorable Yuri Kostick, Mayor of Eagle, Colorado
The Community Impact Award honors an individual whose dedication to high school mountain biking has resulted in positive impacts on youth, the community and the organization. This individual is an outstanding representative of the organization internally and externally.

Specialized Student-Athlete Leadership Award
Megan Bradley, Rim of the World High School, SoCal High School Cycling League
Sean Bird, St. Francis High School, SoCal High School Cycling League
The Student Athlete Leadership Award honors student-athletes who have demonstrated outstanding leadership, sportsmanship, academic performance and volunteerism in their team, school and community.

Easton Foundations League Founder Award
Matt Gunnell, Director, SoCal High School Cycling League
The League Founders Award recognizes an individual's commitment, enthusiasm and perseverance and outstanding contributions in establishing and running a NICA High School Cycling League.

SRAM Coach of The Year Award
Brad Didier, Huntsville High School, Texas High School Mountain Bike League
The Coach of the Year Award acknowledges a head coach whose qualities as a leader and motivator embodies NICA’s mission to provide student-athletes with the coaching and camaraderie to help them achieve both competitive and non-competitive goals in a safe and enjoyable manner.

Trek Student-Athlete All Star Award
Haley Batten, Park City High School Mountain Bike Club, Utah High School Cycling League
Justin Griffin, Olympus/Cottonwood/Hillcrest Composite, Utah High School Cycling League
The All-Star Student Athlete Award recognizes student-athletes for their outstanding competitive achievements and potential for future success in competitive cycling.

NICA Legacy Award
The NICA Legacy Award honors an individual or organization for their tremendous philanthropic support of NICA and NICA Leagues.

Sho-Air Extraordinary Courage Award
Elmo De Ville, Huntsville High School, Texas High School Mountain Bike League
Garrison Hayes, Highlands Ranch Composite, Colorado High School Cycling League
The Extraordinary Courage Award recognizes student-athletes who have persevered through challenging circumstances and overcome adversity to develop and excel as a model student-athlete.

About NICA (click for text)

nica-sponsors 1.22.14
facebook instagram twitter vimeo youtube