Dive into Summer Reading > with your favorite HMH Books! Looking for a bat-tastic summer book? Check out these three favorites from author/illustrat

character banner1

Dive into Summer Reading

with your favorite HMH Books!

***

Looking for a bat-tastic summer book? Check out these three favorites from author/illustrator Brian Lies.
* BATS AT THE BEACH
* BATS AT THE LIBRARY
* BATS AT THE BALLGAME

***

Sophie Harley is sure to make you laugh, and this series is just right for emergent readers! Click on the titles below.

QUEEN SOPHIE HARTLEY
“A humorous voyage to self-discovery . . . simple plot, droll dialogue, and strong characters . . . Sophie’s world . . . feels wonderfully like Ramona Quimby’s.” — Kirkus Reviews

SOPHIE HARTLEY, ON STRIKE
“Fans of Cleary, Hurwitz, and the Judy Moody series will enjoy this snapshot of real family life.” — Horn Book

HAPPY BIRTHDAY, SOPHIE HARTLEY
“Girls undergoing the same growing-up trials will be happy to have Sophie make them laugh.” — Kirkus Reviews

***

THE LEMONADE CRIME
by Jacqueline Davies

Following the laws of our legal system, Evan and Jessie’s fourth grade class concocts a courtroom on the playground, putting Scott Spencer, alleged thief in THE LEOMNADE WAR, on trial.

*“The realistic depiction of the children’s emotions and ways of expressing them will resonate with readers. Great for discussion, this involving and, at times, riveting chapter book has something to say and a deceptively simple way of saying it.” — Booklist, starred review

***

LOST VOICES
by Sarah Porter

The first book in a trilogy, Lost Voices is a captivating and wildly original tale about finding a voice, the healing power of friendship, and the strength it takes to forgive.

“In this haunting debut, Porter reworks mermaid mythology to tell a story of abuse, revenge, and forgiveness.” — Booklist

***

Martha Speaks on PBS!

Martha Speaks is an award-winning animated series airing on PBS KIDS. A co-production from WGBH Boston and DHX Media the television series is designed to enrich the vocabulary of 4 to 7-year-olds. Martha Speaks is based on the bestselling books about Martha the talking dog written by Susan Meddaugh, which have sold nearly one million copies in the U.S. and are widely translated throughout the world. Martha Speaks, the animated series follows the adventures of Martha, a loveable dog whose appetite for alphabet soup gives her the power of human speech. Using her speaking abilities, Martha gets jobs, foils bad guys, wins contests, runs for office and orders lots of pizza!
For more about the Martha books click here, or more about Martha Speaks on PBS click here.

***

Nautical high-jinks, riches, and romance abound in the Bloody Jack Adventures!

“A fast-paced and often amusing swashbuckler. Fans of the Bloody Jack Adventure series will relish the latest escapades of this high-spirited and decidedly unconventional heroine.” — Booklist

L. A. Meyer is the award-winning author of the Bloody Jack Adventures, a series praised for its spirited heroine and rousing sense of adventure. The series includes Bloody Jack, Curse of the Blue Tattoo, Under the Jolly Roger, In the Belly of the Bloodhound, Mississippi Jack, My Bonny Light Horseman, Rapture of the Deep, and The Wake of the Lorelei Lee.
Visit www.jackyfaber.com for more information about the series and L. A. Meyer.

blogger facebook instagram pinterest tumblr twitter
1px